So Saturday was the Night Commute for the Invisible Children of Uganda.

A few things, we couldn’t get there until late, both Victor and I had to work, so we ended up getting there around 1130p. I would say there were about 1,200 people there, and all of the space on the grass was taken, so we ended up finding a lovely patch of concrete to throw down our ONE sleeping bag.

These are just photos from where we were sitting, so many people, how cool is that?!?

We were a tad bit underprepared for staying the night. I had a sleeping bag and Victor…well he had his Sociology book. So thankfully I had some bags of clothes that I was going to take to Goodwill, I put on a few layers and I had a sheet I use for the beach in the car, that ended up going on the ground and we used the sleeping bag for warmth.

The guy next to us, wrapped himself in one of those aluminum type blankets, we called him burrito man.

We started to write our letters to our legislators and to Bush and do our “artwork.”

We didn’t sleep very much, around 330am the lights ended up coming back on and we ended up talking with the girl next to us, we laughed so hard. There were points we could hardly breathe, a bit punchy I might say. Here are a few more pics from around that time.

I slept for maybe an hour and woke up with a horrible neck ache and we left around 545a. Overall, it was a good night. I wish we could have gotten there earlier, but life is life right?

I encourage everyone to do this, it’s just a little thing to make you appreciate how lucky we are.

Check out invisiblechildren.com to help the kids in Northern Uganda.

P.S. I just found out that over 70,000 people particpated in this event. That is awesome!

