it’s been a weird week… i had my first full day at the ranch on friday and it was uneventful. I formed a bit of a relationship with a few of clients, but it’s somewhat futile since i will only be there one day a week. anyway, it was a good day overall. i very much had the intention to come home and rest for awhile and then go to bootcamp, even though it was at the beach and i cannot stand bootcamp at the beach! anyway, i laid on my bed, inspecting a “normal” misty nap which doesn’t really entail any sleep. i woke up 3 hours later to discover i of course had missed bootcamp, but me sleeping like that is just odd.

***

saturday morning rolls along, judy and i go hiking in temescal canyon with fellow bootcampers. who invented hiking and are they crazy? hiking is a bitch, you get dirty, you have to carry stuff with you, that you MIGHT need, you have to UPHILL and then DOWNHILL. In short, hiking sucks. I have a valid excuse in not hiking, because it’s bad for my feet, i get incredible pain in my foot from it shifting around so much in my shoe, my feet do not like hiking. of course judy is good at hiking 7 millions miles uphill, i sucked, oh well, i still swim better. 🙂 we each get our “thang.”

so here’s where it gets weird again. i come home to shower, rest, and rehydrate my body before i go to donate platelets. i came home showered and was FREEZING cold. I could not get warm enough, i had on a tshirt, sweatshirt, long pants, socks, and blankets. So I still at this point am thinking this is just a ‘mental’ thing. I think, I’m being lazy. So I get in the car and start driving. A few blocks from home I realized the haziness i felt was not okay, and decided to go home and reschedule the donation. i went home and slept for another 3 hours! anyway, i finally started to feel better after i woke up, it was just crazy.

***

today judy and i went swimming. please let me say one more time. I love swimming, i love everything about it, i love being enveloped by the water, i love the sounds, i love watching other swimmers, i love the smell of chlorine, i love swimming. i do not like how chlorine destroys my hair and requires me to put lotion on my skin twice a day. i do not like being wet and getting out of the pool, but the rest i’m down with and i’ll work the other stuff out.

we then hoped on over to KCRW, our local NPR station, where we both volunteered by answering phones for their summer pledge drive. it was fun, the people are great, it’s nice to know you are surrounded by fellow NPR listeners who like to give back. the guy sitting across from me was kind of cute and really nice and clearly intersted in having a conversation with me. why am i so lame? why do i just ignore people that i think might be remotely interested? i think it has something to do with rejecting them, before they can reject me. what kind of life is that? i need to work on that.

then… i know, we like to do things.. we went to see “Little Miss Sunshine.” Okay, this was a GREAT movie. It was one of the best “indie” type movies I’ve liked since “Garden State” it was sweet, super funny, and overall a great way to end an afternoon.

***

oh and just for kicks…here the books i’ve read in the past few months..

Reading Lolita in Tehran – Azar Nifitsi
Sloppy Firsts – Megan McAfferty
Second Helpings – Megan McAfferty
The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
The Hungry Ocean – Linda Greenlaw
Vanishing Acts – Jodi PollucetThe
Fundamentals of Play – Caitlin Macy
The Kite Runner – Khaled Hosseini
The Position – Meg Wolitzer
Charmed Thirds – Megan McAfferty
Love and Other Impossible Pursuits – Ayelet Waldman
The Year of Yes – Maria Dahvana Headley

