Karen turned 30 something last week, we had a little get together for her. I made the cake and I must say, it was splendid, here are the details…

031609-ebya-004

1 box of yellow cake mix, in 3 8in pie rounds

The filling

1 can of peaches, no sugar added.

a dash of brown sugar

some vanilla

and a little cornstarch

I took the peaches and chopped them up in the food processor, added the other stuff and cooked it on the stove for about 10 minutes to make it thicker. I would say medium is good if you stir frequently. Let it semi-boil. I then put that in the fridge for 3 or 4 hours.

The frosting

2 cubes of room softened butter

2 packages of cream cheese (cold)

powdered sugar.

Again, not big on the measuring, I kind of do things until them seem ‘right’ which can be annoying for most. So I whipped the butter and cream cheese together for a little while and then i gradually added the powdered sugar. Probably a box and  a half of powdered sugar. This is really sweet… so I added 6 tbsp of lemon juice to cut it down and make it a bit tart since the filling would be sweet. It was perfect.

Putting it all together

1 layer of cake

thin layer of rasperberry preserves

thick layer of peaches

1 layer of cake

thin layer of rasperberry preserves

thick layer of peaches

1 layer of cake

frosting…

(i learned to not put filling towards the edges of the cake, because if you do.. it gets in the frosting, oops! Anyway, this cake was freaking delicious, I am so proud… to bad my royal icing was runny. You win some,  you lose some!

