I have been in love with photography for awhile now. I purchased a film SLR years ago, but found without taking classes, I had no clue how to adjust things and it was too expensive to try to figure it out on my own. Plus, I was WAY too impatient to read a book about it.

I finally took a photography class when I was attending Santa Monica College. Unfortunately, that class was anything less than informative. I’m not sure how anyone learned anything, it just didn’t work for me. However, I did end up buying a digital SLR. I have had that SLR for about two years now. One thing I have wanted since I bought the camera is a fixed lens with low aperture settings. I don’t really know how to say that in camera people terms, but basically I wanted to let more light into my lens to get better shots.

I decided to buy the 50 mm lens from amazon. It has great reviews and at $99 was within a budget I could afford. It came in the mail yesterday and though I haven’t had much time to play with it. I did take a few shots. A fixed lens takes a lot of adjusting, but I’m getting it. Look at this handsome man. This is kind of what his face looked like when I told him I would be planting an indoor herb garden. It’s also close to the face he made when I told him how much I needed to get this lens. But how cool is it? His face is so sharp and the background is blurred. That my friends is the awesomeness of low f-stops. (i think.)

